With a history dating back to the 1880s, the Forest Reefs Tavern has had a colourful and unique life south of Orange.
Miners have been the lifeblood of the small, single-storey building and the fortunes of developments around the Cadia area have played a crucial role in the pub's peak times and closure.
It has the unique status of being the first hotel in the region granted a tavern licence.
According to the Tooths' brewery inspectors reports, a history now kept by the Australian National University and the Noel Butlin Archive, it gained the tavern title in May 1972 on a conditional basis before opening properly on June 8, 1973.
The Forest Reefs Hotel had closed in June 1971 after a non-compliance order.
Tooth's first inspection of the pub occurred in 1923 when it was tied to Tooheys for a short time.
Mr A.C. Slattery was licensee from 1931-1951 and was no doubt pleased with news recorded by the Tooths inspector in 1939.
"Reported mine employing 100, started January 1939," he wrote.
Rupert Maxwell, formerly of the Commercial Hotel in Lucknow, took over as owner and licensee in 1951.
The brewery inspector recorded the terms of the sale.
"Up for auction 28-4-51, vacant possession, furnished and equipped," he wrote.
The weatherboard and stone structure had "one bathroom, stables, garage and room."
Trade picked up noticeably throughout the 1960s however, it was headed for closure in 1971 with little trade the year before.
The pub today is renown for its annual camp oven cook off which raises funds for children's charity Little Wings.