Group 10 2018: The coaching merry-go-round complete: Who’s on deck for your club?

The Group 10 coaching puzzle is finally complete.

Mudgee officially confirmed club legend Ben Gregory as its head coach for 2018, the Dragons the last club to name a coach ahead of what is shaping up as a bumper Group 10 campaign.

Of the nine clubs set to contest this year’s premier league title race, six – Lithgow, Blayney, Bathurst St Pat’s, Bathurst Panthers, Mudgee and Cowra – have new coaches calling the shots.

Just about every Group 10 club kicks off pre-season training in the next week, too.


Last year’s coach was Will Ingram and this year’s coach is Tim Mortimer. 

A smart appointment, Mortimer, coming off a premiership win with CYMS, brings a stack of football knowledge with him to the 2017 wooden spooners.

Blayney will improve. There’s no doubting that – with fiery, red-head prop Brady Cheshire on deck you can expect plenty of grizzle at King George Oval in 2018.

But the club is probably still a couple of class backs away from challenging for a spot in the finals.

Mortimer’s last coaching gig netted a minor premiership and grand final appearance with Hawks in 2013.


Last year’s coach was  Chris Rhodes and this year’s coach is Graeme Osborne (2012 premiership)


This years coach is Luke Branighan.


Last year’s coach was  Peter Hickman and this year’s coach is Ben Gregory.


Last year’s coach was Todd Barrow and this year’s coach is Doug Hewitt.


Last year’s coaches were Kurt Hancock, Brady Cheshire, Daniel Finn and this year’s coach is Greg Behan.


Last year’s coach was Rory Brien and this year’s coach is Steve Sutton.


This years coach is Willie Heta.


This years coach is Mick Sullivan (2010, 2011, 2013, 2015, 2017 premierships).