Anzac Day match, Sunday

New Anzac Day jumpers

AN IMPRESSIVE GROUP: Raki Tukeke  will play a pivotal part in the forward line of the under 23 side.

AN IMPRESSIVE GROUP: Raki Tukeke will play a pivotal part in the forward line of the under 23 side.

The Blayney Bears will be marching onto King George Oval this Sunday with a new jersey that president of the club Adam Hornby says will be a great way to honour the Anzacs. 

“Normally we have an away set  but we found that we sold the same jumpers to the same people every year so this year we thought it would be good to get an Anzac set and auction them at the pub afterwards,” he said.

“I’d like to see the players really get behind it because I just think that it’s a good way to show some respect by having a special jumper for them to play in.”

As for this Sunday's match against Cowra, Hornby is hoping that the side lifts their game.

“We will have to improve ten thousand per cent over where we were with Hawks,’ he said.

“To be honest we were terrible, but this week we have a much stronger side on the field with Lochie Hobby back in first grade so from fullback through to front row they’re a much stronger side.”

Hobby and Tukeke feature in U23s 

Group 10 coach Graeme Osborne named a gangbusters squad for this weekend’s Western divisional trials at Parkes’ Jock Colley Oval, a unit of 22 he’s certain can snap Group 11’s recent dominance and earn plenty of Rams jumpers in the process.

It’s a vastly different squad by Group 10’s standards, due to Country Rugby League changing the opens division of its Country Championships to an under-23 tournament. The Groups, naturally, followed suit with their representative sides.

With the likes of Jones, McKellar, Potts, Panthers prop Jarrod Seager, Oberon’s Jake Dawe and Blayney duo Lochie Hobby and Raki Tukeke all in the mix, Group 10’s forward pack will be electric.

  • GROUP 10: Lochie Hobby, Raki Tukeke (Blayney Bears), Rick Nobes (Cowra Magpies), Ryan Griffin, Cam Jones (Orange CYMS), Nathan Potts, Ethan McKellar, Jedd Kennedy (Orange Hawks), Nathan Orr (Mudgee Dragons), Jake Dawe, Michael Ingwersen, Jackson Brien (Oberon Tigers), Jye Barrow, Jarrod Seager, Jedd Betts, Jake Betts, Blake Lawson, Nick Loader (Bathurst Panthers), Matt Ranse, Mitch Squire (Bathurst St Pat’s), Keelan Bresac, Mitch Case (Lithgow Workies)