A service of thanksgiving to celebrate the recent interior renovation of Blayney's Uniting Church and its 125th construction anniversary will be held at the church this Sunday, November 27 at 9.15am.
The opening service was held in the church on September 5 in 1886. It was then a Wesleyan Methodist church, becoming Uniting with the merger of Methodist, Congregational and Presbyterian churches in 1977.
The building was designed in the Gothic style, typical of the late Victorian era, by architect, James Hine.
The foundation stone was laid by Susan Glasson on October 14 1885 and its construction was achieved just under a year.
The workman were all employed by Bathurst contractor James Atkins.
Local grey bricks were used for the walls, and originally it was roofed with slate. Both exterior and interior walls feature ornamental cement and plaster work.
The interior woodwork, especially the pulpit, is testament to the skill of English born joiner, William Dryden.
The church cost approximately 1,144 pounds for building and furnishing, with a large portion of the total donated by church stalwart and pioneer William Glasson and his family.
An open invitation is extended to members of the local community to join with the Uniting Church congregation on Sunday and the morning tea, which will follow in the church hall.